Brian Lepore

Meet Brian. I’m a physicist and soil scientist by training with a background in research and teaching in soil and sustainable agriculture. In 2012, my wife accepted a job as a speech pathologist at St. Charles and my family and I moved to Bend from Muncie, Indiana. With Emily’s job, I was able to start my own farm, something I’d been hoping to do for years. In 2014, we found property and started building our farm. We started with hay and livestock, raising sheep and goat for direct marketing of meat. In 2019 we shifted direction, dropping the hay operation and adding a diversified market garden. In 2020 we increased our flerd size and doubled the vegetable production, started a vegetable CSA and worked both Bend farmer’s markets. We’re hoping to expand over the next several years.

Q: Please tell us a little bit about your family.
My family is Emily, my lovely wife; Gus who is 12 and Claudia who is 10

Q: Please tell us about your current career. What do you love most about what you do?
I love producing nutritious food to our community. Nothing feels better than being told that what your producing tastes delicious.

Q: What are a couple of your favorite restaurants in our community?
Barrio and El Sancho are in an eternal battle for my favorite tacos. Jackson’s Corner has great food and supports local farmers in a significant way. Emily was in The Peach Corps in NE Thailand, so Wild Rose has a special place in our hearts too.

Q: How long have you lived or worked in our community?
Since 2012.

Q: Who is the most interesting person you’ve met here in our community?
Jon Bowerman. He’s the son of Nike founder Bill Bowerman. I sold him hay and heard some amazing stories.

Q: If you could travel anywhere in the world right now, where would it be and why?
Italy! It’s half my heritage and has been on top of my bucket list for years.

Q: What is one of your favorite movies? TV shows?
The GodFather (It’s an Italian thing); Deadwood.

Q: What advice would you give to people?
I try not to give too much advice. I do tell my kids to be nice, thoughtful and to work hard for what you want.

Q: What is something on your bucket list?
Italy! Making a decent income as a farmer.

Q: What is your go to band when you cant decide what to listen to?
It changes, but lately it’s been Derek and the Dominos

Q: What current or former local business makes you the most nostalgic about our community?
Golden Eagle Organics

Q: If you could choose anyone that is alive today and not a relative; with whom would you love to have lunch? Why? And where locally would y’all meet for this lunch?
Wendell Berry. His words and ideas inspire me. I’d cook for him and have a meal on the farm.

Q: What is your favorite thing or something unique about our community?
Goldilocks size, proximity to wilderness and outdoors.

Q: Where do you see yourself in 5 to 10 years?
Hopefully still farming.

Q: (Even for friends or family), what is something interesting that most people don’t know about you?
I’m pretty much an open book. No secret skills.

Q: What is the most beautiful place you have ever been?
The Gila National Forest

Q: Favorite month? favorite holiday? and best single day on the calendar?
September, Thanksgiving, Winter Solstice (December 21 or 22)

Q: What would you rate a 10 out of 10?
My sous vide lamb chops

Q: Who inspires you to be better?
My customers and my kids

Q: What is one or two of your favorite smells?
Rosemary and garlic

Q: Finally, what 3 words or phrases come to mind when you think of the word HOME?
Safety, comfort and family